[Review] In The Mood For Nude (Lip)

Nude lips are something I always love, but couldn’t always pull off beautifully. After a phase of colorful lipstick spree, I went back to nude lipstick lemmings. Since Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet was so popular (still is), I decided to get Nude-ist. I also managed to nudge my sisters to get nude lipsticks as well. I borrowed their liquid lipstick for this post. Three nude lipsticks I tried are Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet in Nude-ist, Sleek Matte Me in Birthday Suit and LA Splash Smitten Lip Tint Mousse in Charmed. All nude colors, all matte finish, and all in liquid form. Hey, the liquid matte lipstick ship hasn’t sail yet. So here are a few photos I took of them.

Top: Bourjois REV Nude-ist; Middle: LA Splash Smitten Charmed; Bottom: Sleek Matte Me Birthday Suit

In terms of color, LA Splash Charmed is the palest. Without the appropriate makeup, this can look deathly. Is that even correct grammar? I also find this to be extremely drying. “This lipstick is so funny, it cracks me up”. Get it? *garing* Literally dried up my lips in seconds. So, the next time I tried this, I made sure to exfoliate my lips and prep my lips with lip balm beforehand. It didn’t crack as bad as before, but still it settled into the lines on my lips, and it showed. The color is beige with minimum pink, hence it looked pale on me. Texture is creamy, not too liquid-y. When it dries, it dries like nobody’s business. Difficult to remove, too. Some people may not like the fact that this stayed on your lips for a long time, fearing harmful effect on lips. My suggestion, just remove with oil-based lip remover. Be patient and be gentle. Don’t rub too harshly on your lips. Eventually it will come off, even if it takes a lot of coaxing.

Left: Sleek Matte Me Birthday Suit; Middle: LA Splash Smitten Charmed; Right: Bourjois REV Nude-ist

Moving on, Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Nude-ist is the most creamy. It’s my favorite in terms of texture. It’s comfortable on lips, too. Color has a hint of pink so it’s more wearable for me. I do have pigmented lips but this is opaque enough for the color to show. Although essentially it should dry matte, I found that it stayed a bit “wet” even after more than 10 minutes. Perhaps the formula vary slightly between colors because Pink Pong (from the same series) definitely dries matte.

Finally, Sleek Matte Me Birthday Suit. This (I think) has some brown in it that it’s not too nude. Very wearable. Texture is less creamy than Bourjois. This also don’t settle too much into lip lines. I think this is a very good choice if you’re looking for liquid lipstick. When I tried this, it dried matte and last okay, around 3 hours with drinking and eating.

And here are some photos of the lipsticks on lips. Didn’t have the picture of Sleek since, well, it’s not mine😉 Maybe I’ll update sometime when I get to borrow it again.

 

 

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet – Nude-ist

 

LA Splash Smitten – Charmed

Gosh, I still need to learn to take proper photos. x___x Anyhow, I’d love to know your favorite nude lipsticks! Do drop a comment🙂

6 thoughts on “[Review] In The Mood For Nude (Lip)

Leave a Reply

